Sacrifices

Day 18 – Hodgenville to Utica, KY – 104 miles

Taking on a trip like this requires some sacrifices and those are the decisions you have to make and live with.  Some notable sacrifices I had to make to go on this trip were:

My wifes birthday yesterday – Happy Birthday Emily Sue
My good friend Heath’s bachelor party and wedding – wish I could of been there
My Nephews birthday – Happy Birthday Kameron
Not earning money over the course of 3 months – big thanks again to my wife for supporting me on this

One of our friends and riders on this trip, Abe, had to come to a decision about his own sacrifices and he made his decision not to continue on yesterday.  After completing Virgina and a good bit of Kentucky he took inventory of what is important to him and decided with the remaining months before returning school he wanted to better use his time to pursue other goals; all the best wishes Abe!

On some positive notes I had been signing “If I could walk 500 miles and if I could walk 500 more, just to be the man to walk 1000 miles ~ dah dat da, dah dat da ~ ….” all yesterday; why?  Not only was yesterday our first day to break over 100 miles in a day, but we also broke 1000 total miles for the trip; only 3k+ more to go🙂

Finding some wet roads and detours in eastern Kentucky

Happy Birthday

Abe Virgina Wheel dip

Abe successfully crossed Virgina in a couple of weeks

A typical camp scene when there is some cover, keep dew off the tents

Flood relief for some headaches for others

Made a friend Rick from New Jersey from our overnight sleeping spot; Utica Fire Department

10 thoughts on “Sacrifices

  1. I am following you every step of the way buddy. You right, sacrifices are part of any path. You have a great life partner here buddy and family and friends who love you. Your my biking hero! Hang in there, no journey greater to me than solo from time to time.

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your trip! I am loving the amazing photos and commentary! And I love how your mom is following your journey on her map… haha!! Be safe, have fun!

  3. Hi Dustin,
    Congrats on the 1,000 mile marker! Enjoy your posts and pictures. When you are finished it will be one big celebration. Keep save!

    Kathy

  4. Wow! Thank you for sharing this! I am so amazed at this journey you have started. It is apparent that you have an amazing support system out there and you are so lucky for it!

Leave a Reply

